1st Port of Galway (24th Galway) Sea Scouts

Annual General Meeting Minutes

8pm November 8th, 2023 Community Meeting Rooms, above Tesco Knocknacarra

ATTENDEES

Erin Killeen, Denis Murphy, Brian Hallahan, Ken Larkin, Mihai Schirliu, Sinéad Ní Bhrádaigh, Damien McCoy, Kiren Govender, Ger O'Rourke, Veronica O'Toole, Aoife Dirrane, Tina Concannon, Marty Concannon, Lucy Carter

Guest: Éamonn Murray Galway County Commissioner

Éamonn was welcomed as a guest and for his support to the Group during the period when a new Group Council was being formed. Éamonn commended the Group on establishing a new team and on the delivery of the extensive Sea Scout program over the last year.

BOARD OF TRUSTEE / GROUP COUNCIL REPORTS

The following reports were presented and approved
Report of the Group Leader: [Erin Killeen]
Report of the Group Secretary [Damien McCoy]
Financial Statement for Year ending August 31st, 2023 [Brian Hallahan]
Report of the Group Bo'sun (Quartermaster): [Denis Murphy]

The Board signed off on the Annual Report and Financial Statement and these will be submitted to Scouting Ireland and the Charities Regulator

The Board noted the Parents & friends AGM which took place immediately prior to the Group AGM and welcomed the creation of a new Fundraising Team which will meet with the Board when the next Board meeting is held.

The Board also notes the discussion at the P&F AGM regarding the governance structure and the concerns raised regarding the independence of the CLG.

BOARD OF TRUSTEE (& GROUP COUNCIL) ELECTION

Chairperson

Nomination(s) – Mihai Schirliu. Proposed by Ken Larkin, Seconded by Marty Concannon. Elected by 14 votes

Group Treasurer

Nomination(s) – Gemma Murphy. Proposed by Erin Killeen, Seconded by Marty Concannon. Elected by 14 votes. Will be appointed to office once Garda Vetting is in place Brian Hallahan was thanked by the Board and all members present for his service as Treasurer during the last year

Secretary

Nomination(s) – Damien McCoy. Proposed by Sinéad Ní Bhrádaigh, Seconded by Denis Murphy. Elected by 14 votes

Group Bo'sun

Nomination(s) – Denis Murphy. Proposed by Kiren Govender, Seconded by Ger O'Rourke. Elected by 14 votes.

Youth Representative

Nomination(s) – Sinéad Ní Bhrádaigh. Proposed by Veronica O'Toole, Seconded by Lucy Carter. Elected by 14 votes.

Additional Member

Nomination(s) – Ken Larkin (Deputy Group Leader) Proposed by Tina Concannon, Seconded by Aoife Dirrane. Elected by 14 votes.

OTHER POSITIONS – Ordinary Roles

Group Trainer (term to align to that of Group Leader)

No nominations received. Group Council will review how best to ensure training delivery **Parents & Friends Group**

The Group welcome the volunteers for the newly formed Parents & Friends Group and look forward to working them on the fundraising, maintenance and other support required by the Group to deliver the program

RECOMMENDATIONS TO THE SCOUT GROUP COUNCIL

The Group shall adopt the Scouting Ireland Sea Scout Uniform

This was adopted with 11 votes in favour and 1 vote against. The Group Council shall now plan the introduction of the Sea Scout uniform with consideration given to minimizing the cost of this.

Membership Subscriptions Structure

It was recommended that the Group Council consider reducing the payment burden on families at the start of the Scout year as there are additional cost pressures such as back to school expenses. The staged payment plan in place was outlined and there was a brief discussion on the merits of various payment structures, their impact on families, the recognition of non-payment rates and the need to support hardship cases to ensure that Scouts remained open and accessible to as many as possible.

Scoil Bhríde

The critical role the availability of School premises was recognized by members and a proposal to provide the School with a donation of \leq 350 was approved by all present

Rusheen Field site

The value of having access to the Rusheen field for activities was recognised and a proposal to continue to provide a small donation (~€200) to charity in return for its use was agreed by all present

These Group AGM Minutes were approved at the Board of Trustee Meeting on Wednesday 22 November, 2023 at Ardilaun Hotel, Galway